2017 SFE Award Winners

Congratulations to the outstanding recipients of the major UNT Faculty Awards for 2017 listed below, all of whom were honored at the Salute to Faculty Excellence Dinner and Award Ceremony in October 2017.

UNT Foundation Awards

UNT Foundation Eminent Faculty Award

Thomas Cundari,


UNT Foundation Faculty Leadership Award

John Ishiyama

Political Science

UNT Foundation Faculty Community Engagement Award

Mariela Nuñez-Janes, 


UNT Foundation Outstanding Lecturer Award

Rossana Boyd,

Teacher Education and Administration

UNT Special Recognition Award

Richard Smith

Behavior Analysis

Research Awards 

University Distinguished Research Professor

Warren Burggren

Biological Sciences

University Distinguished Research Professor

Rajarshi Banerjee

Materials Science and Engineering
Image result for rajarshi banerjee unt

Research Leadership Award

Marco Buongiorno Nardelli, Physics and Chemistry

Creative Impact Award

Matthew Bourbon, Studio Art

Image result for unt matthew bourbon

UNT Teacher-Scholar

Erin Schafer, Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology

Early Career Award 

Nora Gilbert, English

Image result for unt nora gilbert

Early Career Award

Alexandra Ponette-Gonzalez

Geography and the Environment

Toulouse Scholar Award

Steve Wolverton, Geography

Faculty Innovator Award

Narendra Dahotre, Material Science and Enginieering Image result for unt narendra

2016 Faculty Innovator Award

Guido Verbeck

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Decker Scholar Award

Elias Kougianos

Engineering Technology

Regents Professor Award

James Meernik

Political Science
Image result for unt james meernik

Teaching Awards 

University Distinguished Teaching Professor

Sheri Broyles


University Distinguished Teaching Professor

Rudi Thompson

Biological Sciences

J.H. Shelton Excellence in Teaching Award

Kimi King

Political Science

President's Council Teaching Award


Carol Wickstrom

Teacher Education and Administration

President's Council Teaching Award

 Peter Pincemin Johnstone

Criminal Justice

'Fessor Graham Award

Brenda Sweeten

Social Work

SGA Honor Professor

Masood Raja



Outstanding Online Teacher & Course Award


Gayle Prybutok

Rehabilitation and Health Services 

Exemplary Online Teacher & Course Award

Kelly Donahue-Wallace

Art Education and Art History
Image result for unt kelly donahue wallace 

2017 Piper Professor Award

John Ishiyama,

Political Science

Image result for john ishiyama unt

 Service Awards 

Ulys and Vera Knight Faculty Mentor Award

Yolanda Flores Niemann


Citation for Distinguished International Service Award

Cynthia Mohr


President's Council University Service Award

 Brian Lain

Communication Studies
Image result for unt brian lain

Bob Roger Service & Community Engagement Award

Thomas Evenson,

College of Health and Public Service