2015 SFE Award Winners

Congratulations to the recipients of the major UNT awards for 2014-15 listed below, all of whom were honored at the Salute to Faculty Excellence Dinner and Award Ceremony in September 2015.

UNT Foundation Awards

UNT Foundation Eminent Faculty Award

Angela Wilson, Chemistry

Angela Wilson

UNT Foundation Faculty Leadership Award

David Mason, Political Science  

UNT Foundation Faculty Community Engagement Award

Donna Emmanuel, Music Education  

UNT Foundation Outstanding Lecturer Award

Lesli Robertson, Studio Art

Research Awards 

Distinguished Research Professorards 

Rajiv S. Mishra, Materials Science & Engineering


Distinguished Research Professor

Jyoti Shah, Biology

Research Leadership Award

Armin R. Mikler, Computer Science & Engineering


Creative Impact Award

Dornith Doherty, Art Studio



UNT Teacher Scholar

Kelly Donahue-Wallace, Art Education & History


Early Career Award for Research & Creativity

Yan Wan, Electrical Engineering


Toulouse Scholar Award

Deborah A. Rohwer, College of Music


 Teaching Awards 

Distinguished Teaching Professor

Phillip R. Foster, Engineering Technology


Distinguished Teaching Professor

Nicole D. Smith, English


Distinguished Teaching Professor

Jacqueline Vanhoutte, English


J.H. Shelton Excellence in Teaching Award

Wendy L. Watson, Political Science


President's Council Teaching Award


Ruthanne “Rudi” Thompson, Biology


President's Council Teaching Award

 Manjula S. Salimath, Management


'Fessor Graham Award

Bethany Blackstone, Political Science  

SGA Honor Professor

Regina P. Branton, Political Science  

Outstanding Online Teacher & Course Award


Stephen Garretson, Educational Psychology  

Exemplary Online Teacher & Course Award

Royce Jefferson George, Teacher Education & Administration   

UNT Piper Professor Nomination

Smita Shukla Mehta, Educational Psychology


 Service Awards 

Ulys and Vera Knight Faculty Mentor Award

Jennifer L. Callahan, Psychology   

Citation for Distinguished Service to International Education

Sandra Spencer, English  

President's Council Service Award

James David Meernik, Political Science  

Regents Professors

Regents Professor

Jeff M. Allen, Learning Technologies

Regents Professor

Nandika Anne D’Souza,  Mechanical & Energy Engineering