UNT Foundation Community Engagement Award

Award Description

The UNT Foundation Community Engagement Award recognizes UNT faculty whose careers are marked by sustained activities that systematically and effectively advance mutual university-community engagement, successfully address important community issues through collaborative initiatives, and create intellectual products respected by peers within and beyond the academy. UNT’s Community Engagement recipients are those individuals who have the sensitivity to understand and work across organizational cultures and boundaries; the leadership to build bridges among community institutions and to make university and community institutions intelligible to and supportive of each other; and the capacity to develop new and productive projects and relationships that embody the university’s central commitment to its community engagement mission. The annual award carries a one-time $5,000 payment and an engraved commemorative gift.


  • Must have served the University of North Texas for a minimum of 5 years.
  • Must be a full-time tenure-track /tenured faculty member in good standing at the time of the nomination.
  • Must demonstrate sustained exemplary community engagement and have a minimum of two distinct engagement initiatives with actively involved community partners that achieve multiple successful outcomes.

Nomination Procedure

A faculty member who meets the above criteria may be nominated by any UNT faculty or university employee with in-depth knowledge of the accomplishments of the nominee. Self-nominations will not be accepted.  Nominators should inform nominees that they are being nominated and may solicit their assistance in preparing the nomination materials.

Submission Process

The nominator should submit the nomination packet via the Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards nomination portal. If you have any questions please contact Faculty Success at Faculty.Success@unt.edu or (940) 565-3987.


All completed nomination packets must be received by Faculty Success by 5:00 p.m. October 1, 2022. See the Call for Nominations for specific details.

Award Recipients


Faculty Member



Jennifer Callahan and
Camilo Ruggero



Suzanne Enck

Communications Studies


Shahla Ala'i-Rosales

Behavior Analysis


Bradford Charles Leali

Jazz Studies


Young Hoon Kim

Hospitality & Tourism Management


Mariela Nunez-Janes



Jean Keller

Kinesiology, Health Promotion, and Recreation


Donna Emmanuel

Music Education


Stanley R. Ingman

Public Affairs & Community Service


Ruthanne Thompson

Biological Sciences


Arminta Jacobson

Educational Psychology