UNT Teacher-Scholar Award

Award Description

The UNT Teacher‐Scholar Award is given by Research and Innovation to the mid‐career faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in research or creative productivity while also performing in an extraordinary manner as a teacher. 


  • At least seven (7) but fewer than sixteen (16) years in a full‐time faculty appointment.  
  • Full‐time faculty member in good standing at the time of the nomination.  
  • Scholarly/creative products (articles, books, performances, exhibitions, etc.) demonstrating a record of research productivity and scholarly excellence consistent with the standards of the discipline.  
  • A sustained record of extraordinary teaching as demonstrated by pedagogical innovations (novel course development, development of new teaching methods, teaching of cutting‐edge concepts/findings, technology integration, etc.).  
  • Has not previously won the UNT Teacher Scholar Award.  
  • Does not hold either a University Distinguished Teaching Professorship or a University Distinguished Research Professorship.  
  • Is not a Regents Professor.  
  • Complete curriculum vitae.  
  • List of the highest affiliations/awards in the discipline and with her/his professional societies/organizations.  
  • List of courses taught (specify level of each: undergraduate/masters/doctoral).  
  • If pedagogical innovations developed by the nominee were published or presented to a professional audience, include copies/documentations of those scholarly products (publications, presentations, conference proceedings, etc.).  
  • Up to 2000 words describing the impact of the nominee’s work, in language understandable to persons outside the discipline. Although this description should include an overview of the nominee’s excellence in research, its focus should be on demonstrating and illustrating the nominee’s extraordinary teaching (given that research excellence is more easily inferred from the vitae).  

Nomination Procedures

Self‐nominations will not be considered.

Submission Process

Each nomination, including any supporting materials, should be received electronically by the Division of Research & Innovation via email to intramuralgrants@unt.edu. If you have books or supporting materials in addition to your electronic application packet, please schedule an appointment to drop off materials in Hurley Admin 210 between 9 a.m. and noon Monday through Friday by emailing Katie.Herring@unt.edu.

Selection Process

Nominations are evaluated by a panel of UNT faculty and administrators who make recommendations to the Vice President for Research and Innovation and the Provost. 


All completed nomination packets must be received by 5 p.m. November 12, 2021. Visit Research and Innovation for further information.

Award Recipients




2020-2021 Laura Siebeneck Emergency Management and Disaster Science


Hong Wang



Brian McFarlin

Kinesiology, Health Promotion, and Recreation


Srinivasan Srivilliputhur

Materials Science and Engineering


Erin Schafer

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology


Tom Scharf

Materials Science & Engineering


Kelly Donahue-Wallace

Art History


Guido F. Verbeck



Lawrence Williams

World Languages, Literatures, & Cultures


Rebecca Dickstein

Biological Sciences


Pamela E. Harrell

Teacher Education & Administration


Dee Ray

Counseling & Higher Education


Angela K. Wilson