2024 SFE Award Winners

UNT Foundation Awards

UNT Foundation Eminent Faculty Award

Jim Meernik holding giant award check during surprise classroom visit

James Meernik, Ph.D.

Regents Professor, Political Science
Read more about James Meernik

UNT Foundation Faculty Leadership Award

Joseph Oppong holding giant award check with UNT administrators and Foundation CEO

Joseph Oppong, Ph.D.

Professor and Academic Associate Dean, Toulouse Graduate School
Read more about Joseph Oppong

UNT Foundation Community Engagement Award

Lauren Mathews posing with giant award check during class visit from UNT administrators and Board CEO

Lauren Mathews, M.S., CCC-SLP

Clinical Associate Professor, Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
Read more about Lauren Mathews

UNT Foundation Outstanding Lecturer Award

Marissa Zorola posing with giant award check during class visit from UNT administrators and Foundation CEO

Marissa Zorola, M.S.

Principal Lecturer, Merchandising and Digital Retailing
Read more about Marissa Zorola


Teaching Awards

University Distinguished Teaching Professors

Portrait of Matthew Heard

Matthew Heard, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, English
Read more about Matthew Heard

Portrait of Jeonghyun Kim

Jeonghyun "Annie" Kim, Ph.D.

Professor, Information Science
Read more about Jeonghyun Kim

Portrait of Paul Leenhouts

Paul Leenhouts, M.A.

Professor and Director, Early Music
Read more about Paul Leenhouts

Adjunct Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence

Portrait of Jennifer Gray

Jennifer Gray, Ed.D.

Adjunct Instructor, Communication Studies
Read more about Jennifer Gray

DSI CLEAR Outstanding Online Course and Teaching Award - Canvas

Portrait of Jae Webb

Jae Webb, Ph.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor, Management
Read more about Jae Webb

Portrait of Kathryne Beebe

Kathryne Beebe, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, History
Read more about Kathryne Beebe

DSI CLEAR Outstanding Online Course and Teaching Award - Coursera

Portrait of Dexter Purnell

Dexter Purnell, D.B.A.

Lecturer, Marketing
Read more about Dexter Purnell

President’s Council Teaching Award

Portrait of Kathryne Beebe

Kathryne Beebe, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, History
Read more about Kathryne Beebe

Portrait of Frances Perkins

Frances Perkins, M.F.A.

Principal Lecturer, Media Arts
Read more about Frances Perkins

J.H. Shelton Excellence in Teaching Award

Portrait of Ozlem Altiok

Özlem Altıok, Ph.D.

Principal Lecturer, International Studies; Women's and Gender Studies
Read more about Özlem Altıok

UNT Piper Professor Nominee

Marjorie Tieslau posing in front of the Seine River

Marjorie Tieslau, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Economics
Read more about Marjorie Tieslau


Research Awards

Teacher Scholar Award

Portrait of Haley Zettler

Haley Zettler, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Criminal Justice
Read more about Haley Zettler

Early Career Award for Research and Creativity

Portrait of Elizabeth Skellam

Elizabeth Skellam, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Chemistry
Read more about Elizabeth Skellam

Decker Scholar Award

Portrait of Jyoti Shah

Jyoti Shah, Ph.D.

University Distinguished Research Professor, Biological Sciences
Read more about Jyoti Shah

Toulouse Scholar Award

Portrait of Xi CeCe Leung

Xi CeCe Leung, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Hospitality and Tourism Management
Read more about Xi CeCe Leung

Creative Impact Award

Portrait of Kimberly Cole Luevano

Kimberly Cole Luevano, D.M.A.

Professor, Instrumental Studies
Read more about Kimberly Cole Luevano

Research Leadership Award

Portrait of Andrey Voevodin

Andrey Voevodin, Ph.D. 

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Read more about Andrey Voevodin

University Distinguished Research Professors

 Portrait of David Childs

David Childs, D.M.A.

Professor, Instrumental Studies
Co-Director of the UNT Brass Band
Read more about David Childs

Portrait of Jincheng Du

Jincheng Du, Ph.D.

Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Read more about Jincheng Du

Portrait of Arkadii Krokhin

Arkadii Krokhin, Ph.D.

Professor, Physics
Read more about Arkadii Krokhin

Presidential Early Career Professor

Portrait of Martinque Jones

Martinque Jones, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Psychology
Read more about Martinque Jones

Regents Professors

Portrait of Jianping Chen

Jiangping Chen, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair, Information Science
Read more about Jiangping Chen

Portrait of Pudur Jagadeeswaran

Pudur Jagadeeswaran, Ph.D.

Professor, Biological Sciences
Read more about Pudur Jagadeeswaran

Portrait of Panayiotis Kokoras

Panayiotis Kokoras, Ph.D.

Professor, Composition Studies
Director of the Center for Experimental Music and Intermedia
Read more about Panayiotis Kokoras


Service Awards

Outstanding Library Faculty Award

Portrait of Catherine Sassen

Catherine Sassen, Ph.D.

Librarian, Cataloging and Metadata Services
Read more about Catherine Sassen

Ulys and Vera Knight Faculty Mentor Award

Portrait of Jannon Fuchs

Jannon Fuchs, Ph.D.

Professor, Biological Sciences
Read more about Jannon Fuchs

President's Council Service Award

Portrait of Bill Acree

William E. Acree, Ph.D.

Professor, Chemistry
Read more about William Acree

Citation for Distinguished Service to International Education

UNT portrait of Ricardo González-Carriedo

Ricardo González-Carriedo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Teacher Education and Administration
Read more about Ricardo González-Carriedo

Presidential Awards

UNT Community Award

Portrait of Jamie Baxter-Slye

Jaime Baxter-Slye, Ph.D.

Instructional Lab Supervisor and Adjunct Faculty, Biological Sciences
Read more about Jaime Baxter-Slye

Bob Rogers Service and Community Engagement Award

Portrait of Tao Zhang

Tao Zhang, Ph.D.

Professor, Kinesiology, Health Promotion and Recreation
Director of the Pediatric Movement and Physical Activity Laboratory
Read more about Tao Zhang