2022 External Award Winners

College of Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Dr. Kamesh Namuduri, Professor

- Distinguished Lecturer, IEEE Vehicular Technology Society

Dr. King Man Siu, Assistant Professor

- Star Reviewer Award, Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Diana Berman, Assistant Professor

- Early Career Development Award, National Science Foundation

College of Health and Public Service

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology

Dr. Katsura Aoyama, Associate Professor

- Public Service Award, Texas Speech and Hearing Association

Emergency Management and Disaster Science

Dr. Laura Siebeneck, Associate Professor

- Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award, Federal Emergency Management Agency Higher Education Program

Dr. Gary Webb, Professor

- Dr. B. Wayne Blanchard Award for Academic Excellence in Emergency Management Higher Education, Federal Emergency Management Agency Higher Education Program

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences


Dr. Angela Calcaterra, Associate Professor

- National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship

Dr. Aja Martinez, Assistant Professor

- Vision Award Inaugural Winner, Coalition for Community Writers, for Counterstory: The Rhetoric and Writing of Critical Race Theory

Dr. John Peters, Distinguished Research Professor

- 2021 Adam Gillon Book Award in Conrad Studies, The Joseph Conrad Society of America

Dr. Priscilla Ybarra, Associate Professor

- 2021-2022 Clements Senior Fellow for the Study of Southwestern America, Clements Center for Southwest Studies, Southern Methodist University

- 2021-2022 Rethink Outside Fellow, Blue Sky Funders Forum


Dr. Wesley Phelps, Associate Professor

- 2021 Fellow of the East Texas Historical Association

Dr. Olga Velikanova, Assistant Professor

- 2021 Alexander-von-Humboldt Foundation Fellow

Media Arts

Dr. Jacqueline Vickery, Associate Professor

- Honorific Award for the "Community Media Project of North Texas”, National Endowment of the Arts

College of Music

Composition Studies

Dr. Sungji Hong, Lecturer

- First Prize, Kazimierz Serocki 17th International Composers’ Competition, Polish Society for Contemporary Music and ISCM Polish Section funded by The Ministry of Culture in Warsaw, Poland

- 2021 Vidimus Stellam Award for solo flute, National Flute Association

Instrumental Studies

Dr. Kimberly Cole Luevano, Professor

- Classical Commissioning Grant, Chamber Music America

- Commissioning Grant with Composer David Biedenbender, Barlow Endowment for Music Composition of Brigham Young University

College of Visual Arts and Design


Dr. Hae Jin Gam, Associate Professor

- Best Paper Winner in Apparel, Textiles, and Merchandising,2021 Annual Conference of the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Dr. Douglas May, Assistant Professor

- One Gold Award, Two Silver Awards and Three Honorable Mention Awards in the Protest Poster 2 Competition, Graphis, Inc.

Dr. Stephen Zhang, Assistant Professor

- Best of Show (Kenneth M. Shuck Memorial $3,000 Cash Award) for Hidden at Watercolor USA 2021, Springfield Art Museum

- Dorothy Driehaus Mellin Watercolor Award for Granada,2021 Transparent Watercolor Society of America 45th Annual National Exhibition

- Best of Show for Together at 14th Annual Watermedia Showcase, Artists Network Artists Network and Watercolor Artist

New College


Dr. Seth Ketron, Clinical Assistant Professor

- 2021 Outstanding Reviewer of the Year, Journal of Product and Brand Management