Distinguished Teaching Professorship Award


Award Description

The purpose of this award is to recognize tenured faculty at the rank of professor or associate professor who perform outstanding teaching, instruct at the introductory levels of their disciplines, and promote continuous development of teaching excellence and improvement among their colleagues in the UNT community. The award consists of the designation "University Distinguished Teaching Professor" and a one-time supplement of $5,000 added to the recipient's base salary. Up to five awards may be made per year to the most qualified candidates. Award recipients are recognized at the annual Salute to Faculty Excellence dinner and ceremony each fall.

2020 Nomination Guidelines


Submission Process

All nominations for awards to take effect on September 1, 2020 should be submitted using the Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards Nomination portal. Here is the link: https://vpaa.unt.edu/nominate. If you have any questions please contact Annie Garcia at Ana.Garcia@unt.edu or (940) 565-3987.



All completed nomination packets must be received by the Office for Faculty Success by October 25, 2019. See the Call for Nominations for specific details.


Selection Process/Eligibility

Nominations for the designation of University Distinguished Teaching Professor shall be made by the department chair and submitted to the school or college dean. A candidate's nomination must be based upon a record of excellence consisting of a teaching portfolio covering teaching performance over the 5-year period prior to the nomination. School or college nominations shall be forwarded by the dean to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs for consideration and shall include a letter of evaluation of the candidate by the dean. Nominations will be reviewed by the University Distinguished Teaching Professor Selection and Review Committee. To be eligible for this award, an individual must be a full-time tenured professor or associate professor, possess a distinguished record of teaching, and demonstrate evidence of the potential for continued excellence in teaching as well as a commitment to the development and promotion of excellent teaching performance.


Current Distinguished Teaching Professors

Year Faculty Member Department
2019 Kyle Jensen English
2019 Eric M. Nestler Instrumental Studies
2019 Miroslav Penkov English
2019 Andrew J. Torget History
2017 Sheri Broyles Mayborn School of Journalism
2017 Ruthanne (Rudi) Thompson Biological Sciences
2016 Robin Henson Educational Psychology
2016 Lee Hughes Biological Sciences
2016 Rick Reidy Materials Science and Engineering
2015 Phillip Foster Engineering Technology
2015 Nicole Smith English
2015 Jacqueline Vanhoutte English
2014 Michael Greig Political Science
2014 Dee Ray Counseling and Higher Education
2014 Francisco Guzman Marketing and Logistics
2014 Paul Dworak Music Theory
2013 Neal Brand Mathematics
2013 Alexander Pettit English
2013 Elizabeth Turner (retired) History
2012 Keith Johnson (retired) Instrumental Studies
2012 Eric Ligon Communication Design
2012 Corey Marks English
2012 Richard Tas (retired) Hospitality Management
2011 Kimi King Political Science
2011 Richard White Management
2010 Gopala Ganesh Marketing and Logistics
2010 Joseph Klein Composition Studies
2010 Sam Matteson (retired) Physics
2010 John Quintanilla Mathematics

For more information on this distinguished honor please visit UNT Policy 06.015.