J.H. Shelton Excellence in Teaching Award


Award Description

This annual award, named for UNT alumnus Joe Houston Shelton, recognizes annually a full-time faculty member (including lecturers) for a record of outstanding teaching at the University of North Texas for at least a five-year period.  The recipient of this honor will receive a $1,500 award to be presented at the Salute to Faculty Excellence Dinner and Ceremony in the fall.


Selection Process/Eligibility

Faculty may be nominated for this award by the Personnel Affairs Committee (PAC) of a department, division, school, or college or by any ad-hoc committee of three or more tenured/tenure-track faculty members.  Previous recipients of these awards are not eligible for nomination for five years following receipt of the award.

The selection criteria, requirements and application form can be found at the Faculty Senate website.


Past Recipients

Year Faculty Member Department
2019 Raina Joines English
2018 Michael Greig Political Science
2017 Kimi King Political Science
2016 Andrew Torget History
2015 Wendy Watson Political Science
2014 Jacqueline Vanhoutte English
2013 Robert Upchurch English
2012 Carol Wickstrom Teacher Education and Administration
2011 Nicole Smith English
2010 Harry Ellis Economics
2009 Laura Stern History
2008 Karen Weiller-Abels Kinesiology/Health/Recreation
2007 Michael McPherson Economics
2006 Margie Tieslau Economics
2005 Samuel Matteson Physics
2004 Jeanne Tunks Teacher Education and Administration