Toulouse Scholar Award

Award Description

The Toulouse Scholars Award is designed to recognize the excellent teaching and scholarly/creative achievements of members of the University of North Texas faculty and thereby honor the distinguished contributions of Robert B. Toulouse to the university. Any faculty member may nominate a colleague they believe meets the criteria.

Selection Criteria

The primary purpose of the Toulouse Scholars Award is to recognize excellent teaching and scholarly/creative achievement. The recipient clearly should have the potential to make further contributions in both areas.

Selection Committee

The selection committee will be composed of the elected faculty representatives of the Graduate Council, representing each of the eight Senate voting groups. The vice provost of the graduate school will preside over the committee, voting only to break a tie. The selection committee will conduct a preliminary screening of nominations to ensure that the minimum criteria are met. The committee may request access to departmental records concerning any nominee's performance both as a scholar and teacher, and to records in the Office of Research and Economic Development concerning the nominee's grant history.

Selection Process

Nominations may be made by any UNT faculty member and should include a nominating letter and vita. Nominating letters should demonstrate the nominee's qualifications for the award through evidence of outstanding performance in teaching at the undergraduate or graduate level and scholarly/creative activity, and the nominee's potential for future distinguished achievement.

Award Amount

The awarded faculty member will receive $2,500. Award recipients may use designated funds at their discretion to enhance or further their research activities.


The nomination letter and nominee’s current vita must be submitted to Yvette Whitworth, program project coordinator in the Toulouse Graduate School, for consideration by the selection committee, by Friday, December 6, 2024.

All full-time, tenured faculty members who are full members of the graduate faculty and who are not previous recipients of a Toulouse Scholars Award may be nominated. It was the intent of the Toulouse Scholars Fund Raising Committee to ensure that over time, the Toulouse Scholars Award would be made to outstanding individuals from a variety of academic areas. Thus, this award cannot be given to faculty members who belong to the same voting group district for three years following the effective date of the award. Therefore, only faculty members from Groups II, VI, VII, and IV may be nominated.

Additionally, this award cannot be given to faculty members in the same department for five (5) award rounds. Thus, faculty in the  Geography and the Environment,  Kinesiology/Health Promotion and Recreation, Conducting Ensembles, English and Chemistry departments may not be nominated.

Toulouse Scholars • All Toulouse Scholars



Xi CeCe Leung

Hospitality and Tourism Management


Lu Liang

Geography and the Environment, Group VII


Tao Zhang

Kinesiology, Health Promotion and Recreation, Group VI


Jonathan Eaton

Conducting and Ensembles, Group VIII


John Peters



Francis D'Souza



John Ishiyama

Political Science


Steve Wolverton

Geography and the Environment


Saraju P. Mohanty

Computer Science and Engineering


Debbie Rohwer

Music Education


Audhesh Paswan

Marketing and Logistics


Bruce Bond



Angela Wilson