SGA Honor Award

Award Description:

The Student Government Association will present up to 5 faculty and staff members with the SGA Honor awards at the Honors Day ceremony every year.  Departmental awards are reported to the association in order to make sure all faculty and staff who are chosen are recognized with a plaque and at the ceremony.


All faculty and staff are eligible to be nominated for this award. Faculty and staff that are nominated for this award will be judged on meaningful contributions to the UNT community in the past year and outstanding service to students.

Selection Process:

Members of the UNT student body are invited to nominate faculty and staff for this award by filling out this form, also available on the SGA website. Each nominated faculty or staff member will be notified of their nomination and allowed to accept their nomination of this award. A committee of students will then review the accepted nominations and select the ‘Fessor Graham recipient and the SGA Honor Professor Award recipient.

Link to Nomination form:


The deadline for nominations is February 1st at 5:00PM.

Past Recipients:

Year Faculty Member Department
2017 Masood Raja English
2016 Doryce Judd Kinesiology, Health Promotion, and Recreation
2016 Richard Tas Hospitality and Tourism Management
2015 Regina Branton Political Science
2014 Samra Bufkins Journalism
2014 Brian Richardson Communication Studies
2014 Justin Trudeau Communication Studies
2013 Ed Blackburn Studio Art
2013 Cynthia Gordon Communication Studies
2013 Joseph Klein Composition Studies
2012 Amy Fann Counseling and Higher Education
2012 Harry Benshoff Radio, Television and Film
2012 Brandi Darensbourg Rehabilitation, Social Work and Addictions
2011 Donald Lyons Geography
2011 Miroslav Penkov English
2011 Richard Smith Behavior Analysis
2011 Steven Harlos Keyboard Studies
2011 Tandra Tyler-Wood Learning Technologies
2010 Elizabeth Oldmixon Political Science
2009 Pinliang Dong Geography
2009 Tracey Everbach Journalism
2009 Kimi King Political Science
2009 Mark Vosvick Psychology