President’s Council Service Award


Award Description

The President's Council University Service Award was established to recognize annually a full‑time, tenured/tenure‑track faculty member for a record of outstanding university service at the University of North Texas over at least a five-year period.  The recipient of the $3,000 award will be recognized at the “Salute to Faculty Excellence Dinner and Ceremony” in the fall semester.


Selection Process/Eligibility

Faculty may be nominated for this award by the Personnel Affairs Committee (PAC) of a department, division, school, or college or by any ad-hoc committee of three or more tenured/tenure-track faculty members.  Previous recipients of these awards are not eligible for nomination for five years following receipt of the award.

The selection criteria, requirements and application form can be found at the Faculty Senate website.


Past Recipients

Year Faculty Member Department
2019 Tracy Everbach Mayborn School of Journalism
2018 Guido Verbeck, IV Chemistry
2017 Brian Lain Communication Studies
2016 John Peters English
2015 James Meernik Political Science
2014 Mark Vosvick Psychology
2013 Marie-Christine Koop World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
2012 James A. Conover Finance, Insurance, Real Estate and Law
2011 Michael Nieswiadomy Economics
2010 John Quintanilla Mathematics
2009 Michael McPherson Economics
2008 Richard Wells Journalism
2007 Gloria Cox Honors College
2006 Frances Van Tassell Teacher Evaluation and Administration
2005 Emile Sahliyeh Political Science