Presidential Early Career Professorship

Award Description

The Presidential Early Career Professorship Award recognizes a faculty member, during his or her probationary period who has an outstanding record of research, scholarship, or creative activity, and whose work shows the potential to be transformative. The annual award includes a one-time payment of $50,000 in research support, and the recipient receives the designation of “Presidential Early Career Professor.” The honoree may retain the title until the point at which tenure is conferred.


Only faculty in their fifth (5th) year or prior are eligible.

Nomination Procedures

The Chair should forward the nomination packet to their Dean, who will add to the packet the Dean's own evaluation of the nominee.

Submission Process

The nominator (Dean) should submit the completed nomination packet via the Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards nomination portal. If you have any questions please contact Annie Garcia at or (940) 565-3987.

Selection Process

Nominations will be reviewed by the Presidential Early Career Professor Selection and Review Committee.


All completed nomination packets must be received by Faculty Success by 5 p.m. October 15, 2021. See the Call for Nominations for details.

Award Recipients

2020-2021 Ifana Mahbub Electrical Engineering


Diana Berman

Materials Science & Engineering


Alicia Eggert

Studio Art


Angie Cartwright

Counseling and Higher Education