The UNT Foundation Outstanding Lecturer Award recognizes a full-time lecturer who has made significant and sustained contributions to the University as evidenced by the quality of their teaching and service. This award is the university’s highest honor for full-time lecturers. The annual award includes a one-time payment of $5,000, a commemorative engraved gift, and the distinction of UNT Foundation Outstanding Lecturer.



To be eligible, nominees must

  • have served the University of North Texas for a minimum of five (5) years.
  • be a full-time lecturer (holding the rank of lecturer, senior lecturer, or principal lecturer) in good standing at the time of the nomination.
  • be well-rounded, with outstanding accomplishments in teaching and service; demonstrate a commitment to pedagogical innovation; support student success; and promote teaching excellence across campus
  • have contributed notably to the advancement and vitality of the university community.


Nomination and Submission Procedures:

Information about nomination procedures, the submission process, and the way that selections are made can be found here.



All completed nomination packets must be received by the Office for Faculty Success by January 18, 2019. See the Call for Nominations for specific details.


Past Recipients:

Year Faculty Member Department
2018 Karen Anderson-Lain Communication Studies
2017 Rossana Ramirez Boyd Teacher Education and Administration
2016 Wendy Watson Political Science
2015 Lesli Robertson Studio Art