'Fessor Graham


This award is named for the late Professor Floyd Graham and is presented by the Student Government Association to a faculty member for outstanding and unselfish service to students.  This award is the highest honor given by the student body.   Professors are judged on teaching excellence, outstanding and unselfish service, publications and scholarly work and length of service to the university and the community.  The Award is presented each year at the Salute to Faculty Excellence dinner and ceremony.

Selection Process/Eligibility:

Professors will be judged on teaching excellence, outstanding and unselfish service, publications and scholarly work, and length of service to the university.  Students may nominate a professor by filling out nomination forms and a student committee will select the 'Fessor Graham recipients and an additional five Honor Professor award recipients.


The usual deadline for submission of entries is in February. Please contact the SGA for more information.

Past Recipients:

Year Faculty Member Department
2019 Jeannette L. Ginther Teacher Education and Administration
2018 Julie Leventhal Educational Psychology
2017 Brenda Sweeten Social Work
2016 Michael Thompson Philosophy and Religion
2015 Bethany Blackstone Political Science
2014 Brian Lain Communications Studies
2013 Andrew Enterline Political Science
2012 Shahla Ala'i-Rosales Behavior Analysis
2011 Armin Mikler Computer Science and Engineering
2010 Gloria Cox Political Science
2009 Lyndal Bullock Education Psychology
2008 Donna Ledgerwood Management
2007 Dee Ray Counseling and Higher Education
2006 Kimi King Political Science
2005 David Hill Kinesiology, Health Promotion and Recreation
2004 Brian Bowman Music
2003 Richard Tas Merchandising and Hospitality Management
2002 Thomas Sovik Music
2001 Gladys Crawford Biological Sciences
2000 William Waller Biological Sciences
1999 Juliet Getty Merchandising and Hospitality Management
1998 P.R. Chandrasekaran Finance, Insurance, Real Estate and Law
1997 Donald Chipman History
1996 Ann Windle Education
1995 Norris Fox Education
1994 Robert LaForte History
1993 Kenneth Godwin Political Science
1992 Fred Hamilton Music
1991 Valerie Martinez Political Science
1990 Dan Haerle Music
1989 Ernest Crystle Foreign Languages and Literatures
1988 Richard Wells Journalism
1987 John Gossett Communication and Public Address
1986 J.B. Spalding Business
1985 Lee Knox Geography
1984 John James Haynie Music
1983 Jerry Lee Yeric Political Science
1982 David Fitch Business
1981 Douglas Starr Journalism
1980 Tommie Collins Lawhon Education
1979 Umesh Banerjee Biology
1978 Anshel Brusilow Music
1977 T. Bullock Hyder Economics
1976 Milan Reban Political Science
1975 Ben Chappell Speech Communications
1974 Leo Estrada Sociology
1973 Charles Foster Business
1972 James Riddlesperger Political Science