UNT Foundation Faculty Leadership Award


The UNT Foundation Faculty Leadership Award recognizes a faculty member who significantly impacts the academic enterprise of the university through his/her leadership and service. The award recipient demonstrates a high degree of professionalism, is committed to the strategic mission of the university, and encourages others to support and work toward the public good through innovative initiatives. The award acknowledges individual and organizational excellence in leadership as demonstrated by the impact of their work at the university, state, national and/or international level. The annual award carries a one-time $5,000 payment and an engraved commemorative gift.


To be eligible, nominees must
  • have served the University of North Texas for a minimum of five years.
  • be a full-time tenure-track/tenured faculty member in good standing at the time of the nomination.
  • demonstrate transformative leadership by empowering groups and facilitating change at the university, local, national, and/or international level.  Activities encompassed by the award may be outstanding singular accomplishments beyond and within the context of his/her current role (e.g., academic unit, professional organization/society, and faculty governance), emerging or innovative leadership initiatives, or longstanding accomplishments.

Nomination and Submission Procedures

Information about nomination procedures, the submission process, and the way that selections are made can be found here.


All completed nomination packets must be received by the Office for Faculty Success by January 18, 2019. See the Call for Nominations for specific details.

Past Recipients


Faculty Member


2018 James Meernik Political Science
2017 John Ishiyama Political Science
2016 Narendra Dahotre Materials Science and Engineering
2015 T. David Mason Political Science
2014 Mark Vosvick Psychology
2013 Angela Wilson Chemistry
2012 Mary Harris Teacher Education and Administration