Citation for Distinguished International Service 


Award Description

This Citation (or award) is presented by UNT-International to any person within the university community who has performed or achieved an extraordinary record of outstanding, distinguished, meritorious and longstanding service to international education at the University of North Texas.  Examples of efforts by past recipients  has included; spearheading and supporting effective curricular changed in support of international education, establishing and supporting study abroad or exchange programs or scholarly publishing that brings positive attention to UNT from institutions in other countries.  The citation is awarded annually if the committee deems necessary and deserving and the recipient will receive an individual plaque, with notation on a permanent and continuing plaque posted conspicuously at the University.  An honorarium suitable to the high status of the Citation may accompany this award.


Selection Process/Eligibility

Any individual or organization within the University community may make a nomination.  The final selection will be made by a committee appointed by UNT-International after a careful review of the accomplishments of each of the nominees. Please click this link for more information.

Citation Nomination Form


Past Recipients

Year Faculty Member Department
2019 Nancy Nelson Teacher Education and Administration
2018 James Kennedy Biological Sciences
2017 Cynthia Mohr Design
2016 Carmen Terry World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
2015 Sandra Spencer English
2013 Floyd McDaniel Physics
2012 Jim Meernik Political Science
2011 Alan Albarran Radio, Television and Film
2010 Garry Landreth Center for Play Therapy
2010 Sue Bratton Center for Play Therapy
2009 Ricardo Rozzi Philosophy and Religion
2008 Dee K. Knight Merchandising and Hospitality Management
2007 Miguel Acevedo Geography
2006 Steve Cobb Economics
2005 Lou Pelton Marketing
2004 Steven Friedson Music
2004 Mitchell Land Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism
2003 Linda Di Fiore Music
2002 Foster Roden Finance, Insurance, Real Estate and Law
2001 Rollie Schafer Vice Provost for Research
2000 David Hartman Community Service
2000 Emile Sahiyeh Political Science
1999 J Lynn Johnson Management
1998 Youn-Kyung Kim Merchandising and Hospitality Managment
1997 Marie-Christine Koop Foreign Languages and Literatures
1996 Joseph Banowetz Music
1995 Witold Brostow Materials Characterization
1994 Howard Smith Education
1993 John Baen Business Administration
1992 Linda Jahn International Admissions
1991 Robert Erdle Visual Arts
1990 Gene Cho Music
1989 Harold Heiberg Music
1988 Cora Martin Studies in Aging
1987 Thomas Preston Arts and Sciences
1986 Arthur Cionet Foreign Languages and Literatures
1985 Milan Reban Political Science