UNT professor receives major recognition for glass research

University of North Texas professor Jincheng Du’s glass research is a labor of love that has resulted in a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award, sponsored by the Department of State, the International Commission on Glass’s W.E.S. Turner Award and Corning’s 2019 Gordon S. Fulcher Distinguished Scholar Award.

Pamela Padilla

UNT Biological Sciences Professor Dr. Padilla Named Associate VP for UNT Research & Innovation

Congratulations to Dr. Pamela Padilla, professor of UNT Biological Sciences, who has been officially named Associate Vice President for Research and Innovation at UNT.

Having served in the role in an interim capacity for the past year, Dr. Padilla's permanent appointment became effective Oct. 1.

Major Gift Inspires UNT Mathematics to Name Lab in Honor of Dr. Linda Truitt Creagh

The UNT Mathematics Department has recently received rightful recognition for their tireless work in biostatistics research led by associate professor Dr. Xuexia Wang. The department is now pleased to officially announce that an incredibly generous $150,000 gift from alumna Dr. Linda Truitt Creagh has inspired them to name the statistics laboratory in her honor. 

Research Lab

Researchers developing an internal sensor for total knee replacement surgeries

UNT Engineering professor Wonbong Choi and associate professor Gayatri Mehta are developing a sensor system for use in rebuilding and balancing the human knee. Total knee arthroplasty is a surgical procedure that replaces the weight-bearing surfaces of the knee joint to relieve pain and correct disability. In order for the knee to work properly, orthopedic surgeons must ensure that everything in the joint is in balance.

Jay Allison

UNT Communication Studies professor receives Coger Award from National Communication Association

Jay Allison, a University of North Texas associate professor of communication studies, has earned the Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance from the National Communication Association. “Receiving the award was an unexpected honor and I am thrilled to find myself in the company of the previous winners, for whom I have a tremendous amount of respect,” Allison said.

Upcoming Writing Retreat

The UNT Faculty Writing Group provides support for faculty members on establishing and maintaining productive writing habits. They regularly hold a “writing retreat” during the fall, spring, and summer semesters. Writing retreats run from 8 am to 5 pm, and faculty members work on their writing projects. Breakfast, coffee, and lunch are provided at writing retreats. The next retreat will be held on Friday, November 8 in the Chemistry Building Room 334.

UNT's Philosophy and Religion Professor is releasing his third book: Dharma in America: A Short History of Hindu-Jain Diaspora

Dr. Pankaj Jain is Associate Professor in the Department of Philosophy and Religion at the University of North Texas. Dr. Jain is widely consulted by various media and is interview and/or quoted for various news reports in BBC, Dallas Morning News, NBC, Fox News, LA Times, National Geographic Channel, and others.