From the Provost

Goals for FY2019

Dear faculty and academic staff, President Smatresk approved UNT’s FY19 budget allocations after thorough deliberations. I am pleased to announce that we are able to strategically invest $50 million in academic affairs to further our university’s goals as a result of this year’s budget process. In the coming weeks, your deans will be sharing with you the investments being made in your colleges. While there are more needs than we are able to address this year, I am proud of the progress we are... Read more

Wrapping up 2017-18

Dear faculty and academic department staff, Today, as our spring semester comes to a close, I would like to take a moment to reflect on this academic year and to thank each of you for all of your support. This time of year is always my favorite. While many of us have an achy hand from grading or are rushing to squeeze in a last-minute meeting with a student, it also is a time of celebration. I am delighted to watch our graduates taking pictures in front of the Hurley building and other... Read more

Spring 2018

Dear faculty and academic staff, Wow, 2018 has arrived, and I sit here wondering how did 2017 fly by so quickly. In the six months since I arrived back at UNT, I have enjoyed learning about our academic programs, departments and the many areas that advance our university. One of the ways I have gotten to know our campus community is through an informal brown bag lunch I’ve been hosting with small groups. This has been so successful that I am planning to continue this series through the... Read more

Welcome new appointments

Dear UNT faculty and staff members, I am very pleased to welcome seasoned administrators into new roles, both interim and temporary. Ms. Cathy Hartman, formerly Associate Dean of the UNT Libraries, will serve as Interim Dean of the UNT Libraries beginning July 5. Dr. Linda Holloway, Chair of the Department of Rehabilitation and Health Services, will serve as Interim Dean of the College of Health and Public Service beginning Sept. 1. Ms. Hartman and Dr. Holloway will serve in interim... Read more