Know Before You Go: Pre-Finals Days, Reading Day, and Final Examinations

As you wrap up the end of the semester don't forget that according to UNT Policy “On Reading Day no classes will be held. During prefinals days, no new curricular content will be disseminated, student organizations do not meet, and no extracurricular activities will be required.” Additionally, final examinations must be administered at the designated time unless authorized under policy. To see this and other policies concerning the end of the semester you can visit this website.

Scholar's Day

UNT's Annual Scholars Day will take place this year on April 2nd, where undergraduates from virtually every discipline in the university will present papers and posters highlighting their past year's research. Please consider encouraging your best undergraduate researchers to take part in a great opportunity to showcase their research to peers and mentors.

April Newsletter Giveaway

Congratulations to Jose Grimaldo from Jim McNatt Institute for Logistics Research, winner of last month's giveaway! The Office for Faculty Success is ready for Spring! Are you? As the saying goes, April showers bring May flowers! Enter for a chance to win a Faculty Connect umbrella! Click here to enter for a chance to win this AMAZING prize!

Gallup Employee Engagement Survey- 12 Questions Starts THIS Friday!

  The Gallup Employee Engagement Survey launches April 5 and will remain open until April 19.  Please take 5 minutes to complete this 12 question survey about your work experience at UNT.  Chancellor Roe commented that, “The insightful feedback received through this annual survey will give us three years of rich data to analyze and build our engagement strategy going forward. “ Past Gallup Survey data led to new faculty and staff initiatives at each UNT system institution.  Don't miss a chance... Read more

Salute to Faculty Excellence Award and Dinner Celebration

  Please join us for the Salute to Faculty Excellence in Apogee Stadium on April 25, 2019 from 6:00-8:00pm.  This April, we will be recognizing a variety of external awards UNT faculty have received this year as well as our institutional awards including UNT Foundation Awards, President’s Council Awards, Faculty Senate Awards, University Distinguished Research and Teaching Professor Awards, Regents Awards, and others. Register here

UNT International Upcoming Dates

Charn Uswachoke International Development Fund (Charn Fund) Application Deadline: April 30, 2019 Additional information is available at: Fulbright Information Session April 12, 2019 | 11 am to 12 pm | Marquis Hall, 107 Learn about opportunities for engaging in research and/or teaching abroad or serving as an expert consultant at an institution abroad. Study Abroad Workshops for Faculty Responding to Mental... Read more

The Latest from CLEAR: The University Forum on Teaching and Learning and Student Portraits Symposium

Student success is imperative to UNT as a caring and creative community. The University Forum on Teaching and Learning and Student Portraits Symposium have combined forces to provide two days of interactive sessions, presentations, and more to support best practices in student success. The brand-new Joint Conference on the Student Experience will run May 1-2, 2019 in the Gateway Ballroom. The theme for the 2019 event is National Trends and What They Mean for Texas Students. This theme will... Read more

April Teaching Excellence Spotlight

  Our April Teaching Excellence Spotlight awardee is Dr. Jonathan Patterson, Assistant Professor of Popular Music in the Division of Jazz Studies in the College of Music. Dr. Patterson, or “Capital” as he is known by students and colleagues alike, emphasizes relevance in his teaching by sharing his professional experience as a musician and designing classroom assignments and activities that reflect real world working conditions.  

The Latest from Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate Committee on Evaluation of University Administrators has completed the evaluations of upper level administrators and will be sending out a survey in early April for evaluations of Deans and Chairs. The Committee on Faculty Participation in Governance will also be sending out a survey in late April to obtain your feedback regarding faculty participation in shared governance. We sincerely appreciate your participation in these surveys! Annual spring Voting Group Senators and... Read more

SPOT Survey

  Student Perceptions of Teaching (SPOT) is the student evaluation system for UNT, and allows students the ability to confidentially provide constructive feedback to their instructor and department to improve the quality of student experiences in the course.  SPOT opens on April 15 and closes on May 2.  The faculty portal can be located at  The portal allows faculty to add their own questions to their course evaluations, pull past term... Read more