Creative Impact Award


This award is given to a full-time University faculty member whose publications, performances, or exhibitions in the literary or creative arts have had the greatest societal impact. The outstanding faculty who win this award receives a prize of $5,000 as well as a plaque commemorating the achievement and recognition at several university venues. 

Selection Process/Eligibility

Any full time tenured or tenure track faculty member who has been with the university for at least  five (5) years and has not won the award in the past three (3) years is eligible to be nominated by one or more UNT faculty or administrators.  Self-nomination is also acceptable.  Nominations are evaluated by a panel of UNT faculty and administrators who make recommendations to the Vice President for Research and Innovation and the Provost. 

Visit the Office of Research and Innovation for further information.

Past Recipients

Year Faculty Member Department
2019 Miroslav Penkov English
2018 No Nominees  
2017 Matthew Bourbon Studio Art
2016 John Holt Instrumental Studies
2015 Dornith Doherty Studio Art
2014 Bradford Leali Jazz Studies
2013 Lynn Seaton Jazz Studies
2012 Melinda Levin Radio, Television & Film
2011 Jeff Bradetich Instrumental Studies
2010 Bruce Bond English
2009 Harlan Butt Studio Art