New deans appointed — An Official Notice from the Provost

Dear UNT Faculty and Staff,

As we begin a new academic year, I am very pleased to announce a series of dean appointments that will provide strong leadership as well as stability for our academic community over the next few years.

Dr. David Holdeman has accepted a two-year appointment to serve as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences through August 2017. Dr. Holdeman has done an outstanding job leading the college since November 2014, and his continued service will ensure continuity through the SACSCOC reaccreditation process that will take place in spring 2016. Prior to serving as interim dean, Dr. Holdeman was chair of the Department of English from 2006. He has been a UNT faculty member since 1992.

In addition, Dr. Marilyn Wiley has accepted a three-year appointment to serve as dean of the college of Business through August 2018. Dr. Wiley has provided excellent leadership for the college since March 2015. Her appointment as dean will span both the SACSCOC visits and the next AACSB International review in 2017-18. AACSB International accredits business programs worldwide. Dr. Wiley joined UNT in 2009 as senior associate dean of the College of Business and as a professor of finance in the Department of Finance, Insurance, Real Estate and Law.

Dr. Greg Jones has agreed to serve as interim dean of the College of Information beginning September 1 after Dr. Herman Totten retires August 31. Dr. Jones, as associate dean, has had a deep understanding of the college’s administrative needs and is a proven leader. During his appointment, the university will conduct a national search for the next dean of the college. The national search will launch in September under the leadership of Dorothy Bland, dean of the Mayborn School of Journalism.

As announced previously, Dr. Jim Scott will retire as dean of the College of Music December 31. I am grateful that Dr. Warren Henry has already agreed to serve as interim dean beginning January 1 while we conduct a national search. Dr. Henry, a professor of music education, has served as the college’s senior associate dean for academic affairs since 2004, and was chair of the division of music education from 1997 to 2004. Dr. Marilyn Wiley will lead the national search for a new dean of the college, which will launch in September.

In addition, some of you may know that Dean Jerry Thomas plans to retire as dean of the College of Education at the end of this academic year. We are in the process of forming a committee to lead a national search for his replacement.

Please join me in congratulating each of these leaders on their appointments and in thanking them for their continued commitments to their college and the university. I look forward to working with each of them, and all of you, to together build a better, stronger UNT.

Finley Graves