Harvard Institutes for Higher Education

The University of North Texas supports professional development opportunities sponsored by the Harvard Institutes for Higher Education for UNT senior-level administrators.  These leadership programs address key issues facing administrators at specific stages in their careers

The Harvard Graduate School of Higher Education’s mission is to prepare leaders in education and to generate knowledge to improve student opportunity, achievement, and success.  The Institute a diverse number of leadership development programs designed for higher education administrators.

  • The Management Development Program delivers innovative and practical ideas about critical management issues for mid-level professionals.
  • The Institute for Management and Leadership in Education is designed for experienced administrators responsible for thinking strategically about their institutional change agendas.
  • The Institute for Educational Management provides opportunities for senior-level administrators to examine critical leadership challenges facing higher education, particularly related to broad institutional policies.

UNT Selection Process

Support will be provided by the department of the employee. It will be contingent upon available funding.  Interested candidates must submit a brief statement addressing their qualifications and how participation would enhance their leadership ability and further the mission of the university, along with a vita.  Please contact faculty.success@unt.edu for specific nomination deadlines.

To view the complete listing of upcoming programs at HIHE, or search by your professional role, or learn more about the institute in general, you can visit their website

Harvard Institutes for Higher Education

Past Participants

Year Faculty Member Department
2015 Kuruvilla John Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Studies, College of Engineering
2014 Dorothy Bland Dean, Mayborn School of Journalism
2012 Angela Wilson Regents Professor, Chemistry
2011 Finley Graves Dean, College of Business
2010 Gloria Cox Dean, Honors College
2009 Celia Williamson Vice Provost, Transfer Articulation