About the Program:

The U.S. Professors of the Year program salutes the most outstanding undergraduate instructors in the country—those who excel in teaching and positively influence the lives and careers of students. Sponsored by CASE and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, it is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring.

All undergraduate teachers in the United States, of any academic rank at any type of undergraduate institution, are eligible for the award. Entries are judged by top U.S. educators and other active participants in education.

Benefits to UNT:

In recognizing faculty members who display superb teaching skills, the U.S. Professors of the Year program gives institutions more than just bragging rights. The awards focus attention on excellence in undergraduate teaching and provide models to which others can aspire.

In the spirit of celebrating undergraduate education at UNT, the Office for Faculty Success supports an institutional selection process every two years.  Nominated faculty will have the opportunity to refine application packets for two consecutive years.  To learn more about the program please visit the U.S. Professors of the Year Awards program website.

NOTE: The Professor of the Year program is on hiatus in 2016 as CASE enters a long-term strategic planning period. We will update this website when this changes.

Past Nominees:

Year Faculty Member Department
2014 and 2015 Lee Hughes Biological Sciences
2014 and 2015 John Quintanilla Mathematics
2014 Gopala Ganesh Marketing & Logistics