Newsletter Extras

September 2021 Faculty Spotlights

College of Education

Counseling and Higher Education

  • Hyun Kyoung Ro earned an NSF grant of $799,904 for her proposal, “The Journey of Inclusion, Identity, and Intersectionality.”
  • Peggy Ceballos and Angie Cartwright earned a $1.5 million grant from the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration for their collaborative work on training future counselors and social workers in trauma-informed, bilingual mental health services.
  • Veronica Jones Baldwin and her team (Kelsey Kunkle, Latoya Haynes, Shirley Anderson and Sandy Nguyen) won a 2021 NASPA Region III Research Grant for their project, "A Qualitative Inquiry into HSI/R1 Identity and Organizational Culture.”

College of Health and Public Service

Emergency Management and Disaster Science

  • Assistant professor Boji Lam received the Texas Speech-Language Hearing Foundation President’s Award.
  • Shannon Presley, senior lecturer and clinical supervisor, received the Texas Speech-Language Hearing Foundation Outstanding and Dedicated Service Award.
  • Associate professor Laura Siebeneck received the 2021 FEMA Higher Education Program Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award.
  • Gary Webb, professor and chair, received the Dr. B. Wayne Blanchard Award for Academic Excellence in Emergency Management in Higher Education.
  • Associate professor Tristan Wu received the President’s Service Award from the International Sociological Association’s Research Committee on the Sociology of Disaster.

Rehabilitation and Health Services

  • Rachita Sharma, interim chair, received the Justin Dart National Alumni Award from the School of Rehabilitation Services and Counseling in the College of Health Professions at UT-Rio Grande Valley.

College of Information

Information Science

  • Assistant professor Sarah Evans earned two grants to fund her creative and collaborative research:
    • $114,049 from the National Science Foundation for her proposal on ethical game design, and
    • $420,000 from the Institute of Museum and Library Services Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian program for her proposal on family and youth engagement in library-supported learning via radio.

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Dance and Theatre

  • The satirical play Dear Donald, Dear Hillary — with lead roles played by theatre faculty members Bob Hess and Sally Vahle, with designs by theatre faculty members Donna Marquet and Adam Chamberlin, and recorded by theatre graduate Noah Sargent — received the Bronze Standard Bank Ovation Award from the National Arts Festival of South Africa, the largest festival on the continent of Africa. The Ovation Awards recognize excellence on the Fringe and aim to seek out productions that are innovative, original and creatively outstanding.

College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism

Hospitality and Tourism Management

College of Music

Instrumental Studies

  • David Childs, professor of euphonium and co-director of the UNT Brass Band, was honored by the International Tuba-Euphonium Association (ITEA) with its biennial Excellence in Recording Award for his Symphonic Euphonium II CD featuring premiere concerto recordings with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. The Awards were established by the ITEA to foster, encourage and recognize excellence in the field of recording.
  • Jeff Bradetich, Regents Professor of double bass, was awarded by the International Society of Bassists with their 2021 Special Recognition Award in the category of Teaching. The honor is bestowed “to those who have contributed their special skills, knowledge, projects and other positive works in furthering the ISB's mission to inspire, educate and connect.”
  • Caleb Hudson, assistant professor of trumpet and member of Canadian Brass, and alum Michael Schneider (’99), a classical pianist, collaborator, educating artist and composer, joined Alfred Music in releasing Suzuki Trumpet School, Volume 1, the very first Suzuki Method book for the brass instrument family.
  • Regents Professor of piano Pamela Mia Paul has been selected for The Cliburn Amateur Competition Jury for 2022. She also served as a member of the screening jury of the Fifteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.
  • USA International Harp Competition has added associate professor Jaymee Haefner to their board of directors.

Composition Studies

  • Professor Jon Christopher Nelson was awarded the International Computer Music Conference 2021 Music Award for his composition, "When Left to His Own Devices." The award recognizes the work as the best of more than 400 global submissions.

Music History, Theory and Ethnomusicology

Jazz Studies

  • Assistant professor Scott Tixier was recently included in recording Academy Award-winner Jon Batiste’s composition "NBA Anthem." The New York City recording was featured in the NBA commercial That's Game.

College of Science


  • Professor William Acree achieved his 1000th scholarly publication — a remarkable accomplishment in its own right and a record-setting one for a UNT faculty member. The paper was co-authored by six TAMS students, reflecting decades of dedicated research mentorship to undergraduates, high school Upward Bound students and TAMS students, including several Goldwater Scholars.


  • Regents Professor Kent Chapman was named a Fellow in the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB), an award that recognizes distinguished and long-term contributions to plant biology and service to the Society.

G. Brint Ryan College of Business

Finance, Insurance, Real Estate and Law

  • The American Risk and Insurance Association (ARIA) awarded the Casualty Actuarial Society Award to assistant professor Jianren Xu. A rare honor, Xu is not only the first recipient of the award at UNT, but also the first in the Dallas-Fort Worth region. In fact, the only other university in the state of Texas to win the award has been the University of Texas Austin.

Marketing, Logistics and Operations Management

Mayborn School of Journalism

  • Mayborn Endowed Chair for Narrative Storytelling Thorne Anderson earned top honors from the National Press Photographers Association for two long-form documentaries: The Price of Prison: Ed Ates and The Price of Prison: Marc Wilson. Anderson also produced a documentary for the Independent Television Service Film Commission for the Independent Lens series Stories for Justice. Anderson’s film, Beyond Justice, focuses on efforts to deal with domestic violence in a rural Texas community.