Welcome Deans Bruxvoort, Chumbler and Hawley!

The Office for Faculty Success is pleased to welcome Diane Bruxvoort, UNT’s new dean of the Library, Neale Chumbler, UNT’s new dean of the College of Health and Public Service, and Jana Hawley, the new dean of the College of Merchandising, Hospitality, and Tourism and Dean Diane. Welcome to UNT!

Salute to Excellence in Research and Creative Activity Event

October 3 from 2:00- 4:00 in the Library Forum

This event highlights a number of UNT’s outstanding scholars.  In collaboration with the Vice President for Research and Innovation and the UNT library, Faculty Success will host a Salute to Excellence in Research and Creativity Event.  At this event, we also salute the UNT Faculty who have authored books last academic year.  The UNT Book Authors...

Turn Out to Support the Mean Green!

UNT’s football team has had back-to-back bowl games under Head Coach Seth Littrell’s leadership, the most recent in New Orleans last fall. Entering his third year at UNT, he led the team into the seventh 9-win season in school history.  The season opener is Saturday September 1 at 6:30 p.m. against SMU. Hope to see you there!

Salute to Faculty Excellence 2018

UNT hosts an annual event to celebrate the accomplishments of our superlative faculty.  You are invited to mark your calendar for the evening of Friday, Oct. 5 to salute UNT’s world-class faculty. This year’s theme is “Celebrating the Impact of a Caring Faculty;” please click here to register. Look for more information coming soon about the events planned for Faculty Excellence Week, scheduled...

Fall 2018

Welcome back to school! I trust that you all had a nice summer and are looking forward to the new school year. I’m pleased to inform you that UNT hired 105 new faculty this fall. I think that says a lot about UNT’s commitment to its faculty and students. I hope you will take the opportunity to greet them and welcome them to the caring UNT community.

UNT professor recipient of 2018 Marcia C. Noyes Award from the Medical Library Association

Ana Cleveland, Regents Professor at the University of North Texas, is the recipient of the 2018 Marcia C. Noyes Award, the highest honor that the Medical Library Association confers. Cleveland, the Sarah Law Kennerly Endowed Professor and in the College of Information’s Department of Information Science, will receive the award at the MLA annual meeting in Atlanta in May. Under her guidance,...

UNT lecturer chosen to co-lead Medical Library Association Training Institute

Jodi Philbrick, a lecturer at the University of North Texas, has been chosen as the co-lead instructor of the Medical Library Association Research Training Institute. The institute was developed to improve the research capacity for practicing health sciences librarians. Philbrick, who works in the College of Information’s Department of Information Science, said she is honored to be a part of...

Diane Bruxvoort named UNT's dean of libraries

The University of North Texas named Diane Bruxvoort Dean of Libraries and Librarian. Bruxvoort will begin her tenure at UNT April 1. She replaces Cathy Hartman, interim Dean of Libraries and former associate dean of libraries. “I’m excited that such a high caliber leader is joining UNT to head our Libraries,” UNT Provost Jennifer Cowley said. “Our university libraries are an incredibly...

Law created after Enron scandal has costly business impact, says UNT researcher

DENTON (UNT), Texas — New research from the University of North Texas shows that the Sarbanes-Oxley Act – an act passed in the wake of the Enron and similar corporate scandals – has expensive consequences for corporate financial reporting and many businesses operating in the U.S.

Lili Sun, an associate professor of accounting at UNT, co-authored a paper detailing the effects of the act...

UNT awarded almost $2 million in NSF funding to study the rules of physics

Can engineering change the basic laws of physics? That is one of the questions three professors and a former student at the University of North Texas are attempting to answer.Arup Neogi, a professor in the College of Science’s Department of Physics, is the principal investigator on a $1,997,222 National Science Foundation grant that will explore such questions.Arkadii Krokhin, also a professor...