

Charter of the Faculty Senate - Article I. Role and Competence of the Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate **ADVOCATES FOR SHARED GOVERNANCE**, and in doing so encourages faculty to participate and discuss academic matters to ensure that academic quality remains a priority at UNT...

The Senate **REPRESENTS THE VIEW OF THE FACULTY** to the UNT Administration.

The Faculty Senate MAY CONSIDER ALL MATTERS OF GENERAL WELFARE to the university including matters raised by senators, by senate committees and by the president of the university...

UNIVERSITY OF NORTH TEXAS*

Leadership



Officers

- Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary
- Elected in May for one-year term beginning July 1



Executive Committee

- Vice Chair is Chair of the Executive Committee
- Three officers, the immediate-past Chair, and one Senator representative from each voting group
- Meetings held first and last Wednesdays of the month (end of August through beginning of June)

Faculty Senate Membership



- 50 faculty senators elected by all eligible full-time faculty in spring elections
- Apportioned among 8 voting groups based upon department, as provided for in the Charter; reapportioned every three years
- 10 elected at-large from among the various tenured and professional full-time faculty ranks
- Three-year terms, maximum two consecutive terms (begin at September Faculty Senate meeting)
- 2 non-voting student senators serving one-year terms
- Meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month (September through June, except no meeting in January)

Voting Group affiliations may be viewed at the Faculty Senate website: https://FacultySenate.unt.edu



Content Structure	Appearance People Modules	Configuration Rep	orts Help					Search		07	1.28	Hello jhs0 °
UNT	University of North Texas Faculty Senate	e										۹
	Home Mission Statement Contact Us	Charter Bylaws	Procedures Manual	Resolutions	Awards	Workplace	Evaluations	SPOT	Provost	President		

HOME / 2023-2026 VOTING GROUPS

Getting Around Senate Officers Executive Committee Members Senators Voting Groups Administrative Committees

Elected Standing Committees

d Hoc Committees and Tasl

Non-elected Standing Committees

2023-2026 Voting Groups

According to Article II, Section 5 of the Faculty Senate Charter, a review of the voting group apportionment of the Senate shall occur at least every three years.

[2023-2026 Voting Groups]

Voting Group I

Department CLASS - Technical Communication



Additional information found on the Faculty Senate website:

- List of voting group affiliations
- ➢Officers page
- List of Senators
- Executive Committee members page
- Senate meeting schedule
- Meeting agendas, minutes and recordings

- Standing committee pages and reports
- Administrative committee Senate appointees
- Resolutions and Policies information
- ➢UNT faculty salary data
- Administrator evaluation results

Committee Participation

Non-Elected Standing Committees

- Twenty-five committees
- Filled through a Senate nominations and approval process
- Some have eligibility requirements review the Procedures Manual or committee page found on the <u>Faculty</u> <u>Senate website</u>

Elected Standing Committees

- Three committees: Graduate Council, Faculty Development Leave Committee, and University Faculty Grievance Committee
- Must follow election process rules to nominate and vote for candidates

Administrative Committees

- Not administered by the Senate
- Approximately twenty committees currently
- Filled in various ways (mostly via nominations/FS approval but some special chair appointments)
- Some have eligibility requirements review committee page found on the <u>Faculty Senate website</u> or contact the administering entity



Committee Participation

Information about each committee – including a list of members and vacancies – may be found on the Faculty Senate website https://facultysenate.unt.edu/

To submit a nomination for yourself or another faculty member for a nonelected standing committee or administrative committee vacancy, send an email with the committee's name, nominee's name, and nominee's department affiliation to the Faculty Senate office at <u>facultysenate@unt.edu</u> or contact a Senator or colleague to submit it for you.



We are committed to:

Communication

Collaboration

Advocacy

Transparency

Contact the Faculty Senate





Coby Condrey, chair coby.condrey@unt.edu

William Joyner, vice chair william.joyner@unt.edu

Sarah Evans, secretary sarah.evans@unt.edu



UNT Faculty Senate https://facultysenate.unt.edu Hurley Building 116 <u>facultysenate@unt.edu</u> 940-565-2053 Jill Stover, administrative coordinator