New Faculty Orientation 2020

This event is in the past. Some links on this page have been deactivated.

Register for New Faculty Orientation 

Faculty Orientation 2020 Schedule: Day 1
Time Activity
8:45AM Virtual Check-In / Meet & Greet
Faculty Senate Representatives
9:20AM Welcome and Introductions
Neal Smatresk, President 
Jennifer Cowley, Provost & VP Academic Affairs
9:50AM Office for Faculty Success Story
Bertina Combes, Vice Provost for Faculty Success
10:00AM Our Students
Student Panel Introduction
Melissa McGuire, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
Victor Prybutok, Vice Provost Graduate Education/Dean of Toulouse Graduate School
10:10AM Breakout Discussions with Students & Faculty Leaders
10:45AM Student Success Panel
Mike McPherson, Vice Provost for Student Success
Karen Weiller, Associate Chair for Undergraduate Affairs
Katy Washington, Director, Office of Disability Access
Maureen (Moe) McGuinness, Dean of Students/Assistant VP for Student Affairs
Tamara Knapp-Grosz, Senior Director of Counseling and Testing Services
Roxanne Davenport, Executive Director Learning Center
11:55AM Our Colleges and Schools
Mix & Mingle with the Deans
Hanchen Huang, Dean, College of Engineering
Neale Chumbler, Dean, College of Health & Public Services
Kinshuk, Dean, College of Information
Jana Hawley, Dean, College of Merchandising, Hospitality & Tourism
Greg Watts, Dean, College of Visual Arts & Design
John Richmond, Dean, College of Music
Tamara Brown, Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences
Steve Cobb, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences
Marilyn Wiley, Dean, G. Brint Ryan College of Business
Randy Bomer, Dean, College of Education
Su Gao, Dean, College of Science
12:25PM Our Faculty
College of Music, UNT Brass Faculty Performance
John Holt, Professor of Trumpet and Chair of Instrumental Studies
Adam Gordon, Senior Lecturer of Trumpet and Baroque Trumpet
Caleb Hudson, Assistant Professor of Trumpet
Raquel Rodriguez Samayoa, Assistant Professor of Trumpet
Tony Baker, Professor of Trombone
Steven Menard, Associate Professor of Trombone
Zachariah Davis, DMA student in Trombone Performance
Stacie Mickens, Associate Professor of Horn
Keith Packman, DMA student in Tuba Performance
Nicholas Enrico Williams, Associate Professor of Wind Conducting
12:30PM The First Few Years as a UNT Faculty Member
Facilitator - Associate Dean Brain McFarlin
Lauren Cross, Program Coordinator & Assistant Professor, Interdisciplinary Art & Design Studies 
Yanyan He, Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Dan Krutka, Associate Professor, Social Studies Education
1:20PM Our Work
New Faculty 101: Tips from the Registrar
Shari Swartz, Registrar
1:45PM Faculty’s Role in Creating an Inclusive Environment
Joanne Woodard, VP of Institutional Equity and Diversity
2:10PM Digital Strategy & Innovation – Faculty Support for Teaching with Technology
Rudi Thompson, Assistant VP Digital Strategy & Innovation/Executive Director CLEAR
Jenna Ledford, Faculty Development Specialist
3:00PM Breakout Sessions
Being a Professor at UNT
Wendy Middlemiss, Professor, Educational Psychology
Jincheng Du, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Francisco Guzman, Professor, Marketing, Logistics, & Operations Management

Non-Tenure Track Faculty Mentoring Network (NTFMN)
Lauren Mathews, Principal Lecturer, Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
Leslie Roberts, Principal Lecturer,  Public Administration

Research and Innovation Services
Pamela Padilla, Associate Vice President for Research & Innovation/Associate Dean of Research & Graduate Studies
Naomi Woods, Assistant Director of Research Development

UNT Affinity Groups
Tony Carey, Associate Professor, Political Science
Tracy Everbach, Professor, Mayborn School of Journalism
Rachita Sharma, Clinical Assistant Professor, Rehabilitation & Health Services
Nicoladie Tam, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Excellence in Teaching
Gloria Cox, Associate Professor, Political Science
Srinivasan Srivilliputhur, Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Eric Nestler, Professor, Instrumental Studies
Priscilla Ybarra, Associate Professor, English

UNT Libraries
Mary Ann Venner, Associate Dean for Public Services
3:40PM Questions and Closing Remarks
Faculty Orientation 2020 Schedule: Day 2
Time Activity
8:00AM Information & Resources
 - Get Informed
 - Payroll Information
 - Compliance

Work/Life Balance
 - Time Off & Resources
 - Holidays
 - EAP

 - Faculty/Staff Scholarship
 - Dining
 - Athletics
 - Fitness
 - Libraries
9:00AM Welcome to Your UNT World Benefits
Insurance, Retirement, Leave Options, Wellbeing Program
11:00AM - 12:00PM Q&A with HR Benefits Team

Date: 08/12/20, 08/13/20
Time: 8:45am
Location: Zoom
Contact: Ana Garcia
Phone: 940-565-3987

New Faculty Orientation 2020: Update 7/29

Hello New Faculty Cohort 20-21! We are just two weeks away from the “virtual” New Faculty Orientation (NFO), Wednesday, August 12, 2020.  We are working daily to prepare for your arrival and are anxious to meet you! We have approximately 90 new faculty. Several opportunities will exist during the day for you to engage in smaller groups so you may begin to meet your colleagues across campus. We have launched our New Faculty Orientation website.  To help you prepare for our time together on... Read more

New Faculty Orientation 2020: Update - 07/10

Greetings New Faculty, We are excited that you have chosen to join our Mean Green family!  Your UNT Story will officially begin on Wednesday and Thursday, August 12 and 13, 2020 at New Faculty Orientation.  Our Mean Green Faculty Cohort 2020-21 will meet virtually on both days beginning at 8:45 AM CST. On Wednesday, August 12 you will have an opportunity to hear from President Smatresk, Provost Cowley and a host of your academic peers about our students, our colleges and schools, and our work... Read more