The UNT Early Career Award for Research and Creativity is given by the Office of Research and Innovation to the faculty member within her/his first 10 years in a full‐time faculty appointment whose research accomplishments or creative endeavors have been the most outstanding. 

Restrictions, Eligibility, and Selection Criteria


Nominations are typically due in late February. See the Office of Research and Innovation’s website for details: click here.

Previous Winners

Year Faculty Member Department
2017 Nora Gilbert English
2017 Alexandra Ponette-Gonzalez Geography and the Environment
2016 Jacqueline DeMeritt Political Science
2015 Yan Wan Electrical Engineering 
2014 Miroslav Penkov English
2013 Peter C. Collins Materials Science and Engineering
2012 Jincheng Du Materials Science and Engineering
2011 Guido F. Verbeck


2010 Pamela A. Padilla Biological Sciences
2009 Rada F. Mihalcea

Computer Science and Engineering