New Classroom/Class Lab Building Committee

The New Classroom/Class Lab Building Committee is a faculty group tasked by Provost Cowley to serve as the pre-design advisory group to provide the framework for the new classroom building programming and design initiatives.  Committee members have been asked to talk with their colleagues as to what they would like to see in a new building regarding design, technology, size and number of classrooms, etc.  Considerations include, but are not limited to the following:

  • What does the future classroom look like in 3, 5, or 10 years?
  • How does various teaching pedagogies impact the classroom environment?
  • How are new types of faculty/student interaction changing classroom design?
  • Consider space limitations and how teaching may be constrained by these limitations.

Space Planning and Management Committee (SPMC)

The Space Planning and Management Committee (SPMC) is responsible for broadening the scope, review, and discussion of space issues, moves, renovations, new construction, master planning and land acquisitions to ensure alignment with the institutions Strategic & Research Plans.

FY18 Committee Members:

Neal Smatresk, President
Bob Brown, Vice President for Finance and Administration (Committee Chair)
Jennifer Cowley, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Tom McCoy, Vice President for Research and Innovation
Elizabeth With, Vice President for Student Affairs
Shannon Goodman, Vice President for Enrollment
Wren Baker, Vice President for Athletics
David Reynolds, Associate Vice President for Facilities
Darlene Callahan, Director of Space Management and Planning
Su Gao, Dean Representative
Lorenzo Garcia, Chairs' Council
V. Barbara Bush, Faculty Senate
Gary Payne, Staff Senate

Research Space Adjudication Subcommittee (RSAS)

The Research Space Adjudication Subcommittee (RSAS), a subcommittee of the Space Planning and Management Committee (SPMC) is responsible for the annual review, assessment, and recommendation for all research space assignments to the SPMC.  The VPAA and VPRI has final approval per UNT Policy 11.011, Research Space Assignment.

FY18 Committee Members:

Narendra Dahotre, Interim Associate Vice President for Research and Innovation (Committee Chair)
Costas Tsatsoulis, Dean, College of Engineering
Su Gao, Dean, College of Science
Kent Chapman, Professor, Biological Science
Seifollah Nasrazadani, Professor, Engineering Technology
Darlene Callahan, Director, Space Management and Planning
Terri Day, Vice Provost for Academic Administration